Enric Canadell graduated from Universitat de Barcelona and obtained a Ph. D from Universidad Autónoma de Madrid. He worked at Université de Paris-Sud, Universitat de Barcelona (Tarragona), the University of Chicago and Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona (CSIC). The main concern for most of his research career has been the development of approaches and ideas leading to a simple yet precise understanding of how the physical/chemical properties and structure of solids are correlated. One of the areas in which he has more continuously worked is that of low-dimensional solids and, in particular, low-dimensional conductors. He has contributed to this field with around 350 scientific publications and developed some ideas which have been quite influential in the field like the hidden nesting concept and the idea of two-band molecular conductors. Problems in which he has been interested include the origin of the electronic instabilities exhibited by many low-dimensional transition metal oxides and bronzes, transition metal chalcogenides and molecular conductors and superconductors, the nature of low temperature magnetoresistance oscillations in molecular metals, the electronic structure of metallic Zintl phases, III-VI layered semiconductors or low-dimensional magnetic systems. Recently, he has been interested in the analysis of results of new tunneling techniques concerning two-gap superconductors, electronic structure of hybrid solids containing both molecular conductors and molecular rotors, the influence of chirality in the transport properties of molecular conductors, charge ordering transitions in both extended and molecular solids, analysis of NEXAFS and ARPES measurements on low-dimensional systems and the electronic structure and instabilities of single-layer transition metal chalcogenides. He co-authored the book “Orbital approach to the electronic structure of solids”, Oxford University Press (2012 and 2016). In 1995 he received the Rochat-Julliard Physics Prize of the French Academy of Sciences and in 2013 was elected member of the Academia Europeae (Section Chemistry).